Get to Know the Photo Editor

If you're new to photo editing, the whole process can seem pretty daunting. This guide is designed to familiarize you with the layout and basic features of our Photo Editor and get you ready to edit your first photo!
 

1. Workspace Basics:

Knowing your way around the Photo Editor is the first step to getting you comfortable with BeFunky. When you open the Photo Editor, you are immediately taken to your workspace.
 
Below is a breakdown of the main workspace elements:
 
A. The Main Nav(igation) Bar runs across the top of your workspace. Click 'Photo Editor' to switch app sections. You'll also find 'Open', 'Save', and 'Batch Processing' options in the middle. On the right is a dropdown that you can use to change your settings, contact support, and more.
 
B. The Left Hand Menu is where you'll find all of the editing tools and your Image Manager. Hover over the icon to reveal the section name.
 
C. The Bottom bar is where you can zoom in/out of your image, undo or redo your last edit, view your edit history, and reset your canvas (clear your current image).
 
D. The Canvas displays the image you’re currently working on.
 

2. Uploading Photos

When you visit the Photo Editor for the first time, you’ll get a screen that asks you to open a photo or use one of our stock images. Click 'Open' from the Main Nav bar to reveal the options from which you can upload a photo.
 
You can also drag and drop an image from your computer directly to your canvas.
 

3. Zoom and Pan

Use the slider in the Bottom bar to zoom in/out of our image. When you're zoomed in on your image, you can move it around on your canvas (panning) by holding the SPACE bar while you click and drag the image.
 
Panning around your image comes in handy if you’re doing detail work close-up, and want to move to another part of your image without zooming out and back in.
 

4. Undo and History

On the very right of the Bottom bar, you’ll see four icons. The first is Reset (parallel arrows) which clears your current image from your canvas. The next two arrow icons are Undo and Redo.
 
The fourth icon (shaped like a clock) opens your History panel. This is a visual history of the edits you've made to your image. From here, you can revert to any stage of your editing process.
 

5. Saving and Sharing

You can save your BeFunky project a couple different ways. Select Save from the Main Nav Bar to choose the location in which you'd like to save or share your image. You can also save as a BeFunky Project file (.bfd) which will keep all of your layers intact if you’d like to continue to edit your project at a later date (more on this later).
 
2 out of 2 found this helpful